Basketball Star Amar’e Stoudemire Apologizes For Anti-Gay Comments: WATCH

Amar'e Stoudemire

Currently based in Israel, former NBA star Amar’e Stoudemire has apologized for saying that he would “shower across the street” if he had a gay teammate.

In an interview earlier this week, Stoudemire – who in 2012 was fined $50,000 for calling a fan “fag” over Twitter – said:

“I’m going to shower across the street, make sure my change of clothes are around the corner. And I’m going to drive [and] take a different route to the gym.”

RELATED: NBA Star Comes Out with Big Gay Kiss on Basketball Soap ‘Hit The Floor’ – WATCH

When asked if he was joking, he replied: “I mean, there’s always a truth within a joke.”

According to TMZ, he said:

“I want to apologize for my offensive comments against the LGBT community. These remarks were taken from a larger interview where a reporter was asking me hypothetical questions, and all my answers had a comedic undertone.

“The answers I gave were meant to be taken as jokes and I am deeply sorry for offending anyone.

“I am open to creating a dialogue to assist the fight the LGBT community encounters daily and will continue to focus on playing basketball.”

Watch the original interview below.

The post Basketball Star Amar’e Stoudemire Apologizes For Anti-Gay Comments: WATCH appeared first on Towleroad.

via Towleroad Gay News http://ift.tt/2lCXmit

Leave a Reply

