Pole Vault World Champion and Olympian Shawn Barber Comes Out as Gay

shawn barber gay

Shawn Barber, a pole vault world champion and a Canadian Olympian, came out as gay in a post to Facebook on Monday morning.

Said Barber:

“Gay and proud! Thank you to my parents for being such a great support. I continue to grow as a person and have a great support group. My parents are my greatest support and have helped me through a lot recently. To my friends, you are always my friends and i love you too!”

http://ift.tt/2oG5ZLu

Barber was the pole vault world champion in 2015. He currently ranks 6th.

Here’s an interview with Barber from 2015 shortly after his World Champion win:

The post Pole Vault World Champion and Olympian Shawn Barber Comes Out as Gay appeared first on Towleroad.

via Towleroad Gay News http://ift.tt/2pZpl20

Leave a Reply

